Chao Lam

Working on the next small things …

AT&T FAIL: Does their *mobile* billing system not recognize time zones?!

leave a comment »

I had to succumb/subscribe to AT&T’s global add-on data plan for my iPhone in my recent trip to Singapore ( if I didn’t, it would cost me $20/MB!)

Leaving Singapore, I immediately cancelled the subscription and turned  “airplane” mode on. However, this month’s bill showed that I had incurred an out-of-plan data surcharge of $16 (that’s a mere 750k of data) in addition to my data plan charges.

What gives? The only explanation I could think of was that, since Singapore is +16 hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time. AT&T must have charged me my last 16 hours of data usage in Singapore treating that time as *after* I had cancelled the data plan!

When I called AT&T, they promptly refunded me the extra charge, but said it was as a “courtesy” and wouldn’t admit any fault – double FAIL!

Written by Chao

February 18, 2010 at 6:16 am

Posted in twitter

Leave a Reply

